You’ve been friends with someone on Snapchat, but after a while, you notice they haven’t been viewing your stories.
It could be the other way around, and you don’t see theirs anymore.
This might make you wonder if the person has deleted their Snapchat account.
If this or a similar scenario has happened to you, follow our guide to know if someone deleted Snapchat, blocked you, or just removed you from their account.
How to Know If Someone Deleted Snapchat
Search Their Username
The easiest way to know if someone has deleted their Snapchat is to search for them on the app.
Simply go to the “explore bar” at the top and type in their username.
If you don’t recall it, try their real name, or at least type something close to their username.
Names that correspond to what you entered will pop up on the results menu so you can find your friend among them.
Two scenarios may happen:
1. You’ll find their profile:
If their profile shows up, it means they haven’t left Snapchat.
Therefore, chances are they’ve removed you from their friend list or just stopped being active on Snapchat.
To see which one is the case, click on their account and check their Snapchat score.
It’s a number indicating how many snaps they’ve posted so far.
You can find it next to their username, at the bottom right of their profile photo.
If you can see the number, nothing’s wrong, and you’re still two-way friends.
However, if it’s not visible to you, the person has deleted you as a friend or hadn’t added you in the first place.
When this happens, the username shows up in the center rather than the left.
2. You won’t find their profile:
If it seems like they’ve disappeared from the app, well then, they’ve deleted their account or blocked you.
To see which one is the case, you’ll need to search their name using another account.
The easiest solution is to ask a friend to search for the username.
If you want to keep the “pursuit” in the dark, you can also set up a new Snapchat account and do it yourself.
Things will be easier if you already have a second account that’s unknown to that person.
If you’re still unable to find the person’s profile, they’ve probably deleted their Snapchat.
As you know by now, you can’t be a hundred percent sure since you might have entered the wrong username.
If you don’t know the person in real life, you’re unlikely to know their genuine name.
What’s more, some people don’t add their real identity on the platform, so searching by their true name may not work, either.
Here are other tricks to see if someone deleted Snapchat or doesn’t want you among their friends.
How to Check If Someone Doesn’t Want You on Snapchat
Snapchat doesn’t send you a notification when a friend blocks or unfollows you.
It’s an across-the-board policy among social media platforms to prevent their users from getting offended or emotionally hurt.
However, things are a bit more complicated with Snapchat.
When you think someone has removed you on Facebook or Instagram, you can simply check your “friend list” or “following” section to see if their name still shows up there.
However, if someone unfriends you on Snapchat, their name may remain in your “Friends” section.
You may even be able to send them snaps, depending on their privacy settings.
Signs that Show Someone Has Unfriended You on Snapchat
1. The Subscriptions Section
The subscriptions section lets you see stories of non-friend Snapchatters, your favorite publishers, and other channels you’ve subscribed to.
If you accidentally come across an old friend’s story there, it means you’re no longer on their friend list.
That’s why their content has appeared as a public user.
2. The Gray Arrow
Messaging the person who you think has removed you is another way to see why they’re not showing up on your Snapchat feed.
Go to your home page and press the speech balloon icon on the lower-left corner.
Double-click on your friend’s profile and select the circle tab to take a Snap image.
Then send it to the user and check the message status.
If the message goes through, a red arrow will appear next to the user’s name, indicating “delivered.”
If it changes gray, however, the message moves into pending status, which means you have to wait for the user to confirm your request.
This is a clear sign that the person has deleted you.
Otherwise, the Snap would have made its way to your friend without the need for confirmation.
3. Location Share Option
When someone deletes you on Snapchat, almost all communication avenues will be limited.
Location sharing is one of them.
You’ll no longer be able to share your location with them or request their location.
4. The Blue Tick Mark
You would assume the blue mark above a user’s name indicates they’re still following you.
Don’t let it fool you.
The sign only indicates that they’re on your friend list, not the other way around.
Does Deleting Mean Blocking on Snapchat?
Deleting someone on Snapchat isn’t the same as blocking them because, when someone blocks you, their profile completely vanishes from your account.
It means you can’t view their profile, let alone send them snaps or check the gray arrow.
This also means you can’t “re-add” the person to your friend list.
The only way to ensure someone has blocked you is to search their name on another account to see if they’re gone or only invisible to you.
Why Would Someone Delete Me on Snapchat?
Although it’s easy to take offense when someone unfollows you on Snapchat, it’s not always something personal.
Sometimes they choose to erase you because they feel you have conflicting interests, or your lifestyle doesn’t match theirs.
Other times, it’s because you’re not actively publishing content on the platform, and your friend thinks you’ve become inactive.
The opposite can also be true.
We have heard stories about people clearing their Snapchat list because they’re seeing too many posts from them.
It may even be an accident.
Haven’t you ever pressed your finger on an icon mistakenly and messed up a device program?
If you really care about the person, the best way to solve the problem is to ask them why they’ve deleted you.
1. The Person Has Deactivated Their Account
When you delete your Snapchat, it won’t disappear from the community right away.
Your username may still exist, giving you a second chance to regain it.
At this time, your friends and followers will have you on their list, but they won’t be able to contact you.
It takes about 30 days until the account completely disappears.
If you see a person’s name on your Snapchat, but all avenues of communication seem to have been blocked, another possibility is they’ve deactivated their account, and they’re in the 30-day suspension period.
2. The Person Has Uninstalled the App
If someone uninstalls their Snapchat application instead of deactivating their account, their profile will still show up on your friend list, but you won’t see any activity from them.
You may assume they’ve unfriended you or something.
To tell if someone has uninstalled Snapchat from their phone, check their Snap score regularly.
If the score doesn’t change for some time (say, a week), chances are your friend has uninstalled the app from their smartphone.
How to Tell if Someone Is Still Following Me After I Unfriend Them
So far, we’ve learned how to know if someone has deleted you from Snapchat.
What if YOU did it to another person?
You may want to make sure they’re no longer able to follow your stories.
Here’s how to check that:
- Create a Snap story and post it.
- Go to your profile screen and navigate to the recent story in the “Stories” sector.
- Press the Eye icon to check who has viewed your story.
- If you spot that specific person among the viewers, it means they’re still following you, despite your having unfollowed them.
- To make sure, you should repeat the process multiple times because sometimes the person is too busy to check the stories, so it doesn’t necessarily mean they’re not following you.
Will Someone Know When I Remove them as a Friend?
People can’t directly know if you remove them as a friend since Snapchat doesn’t let them know through a notification.
However, they may notice your absence after a while and become curious.
There are multiple signs on your profile that indicate whether you’ve unfriended someone.
If they know what to look for, they’re bound to find out.